Apple is taking aggressive steps to curb scamming practices in the App Store.
An update acknowledged on Apple’s Developer Portal reveals that screenshots added to app descriptions will be irreversibly locked in place once Apple has approved the app for entry into the App Store.
Here’s the official announcement that hit developers last night.
Beginning January 9, app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved. New screenshots may be uploaded when you submit a binary for an update to an existing app or a new app.
Although the move appears minimal in nature and won’t impact business as usual for credible developers and app makers, a commonly used scam tactic will now be put out of commission.
The scam in question fools people into buying fake apps with screenshots stolen from a legitimate app.